Board of Trustees 23-24 November 2023

Refers to agenda item 4.4

Agenda Item 4.4: RE-APPOINTMENT FOR A SECOND AND FINAL TERM OF SELECTED MEMBERS OF MC, RATC AND C-SIP

Summary:

The Board of Trustees is responsible for appointing members to the board committees. This follows a well-defined process, with member re-appointments following a staggered approach that takes into account the performance review of individual members of board committees, a task led by the Nominations and Governance Committee. In addition, other factors such as the skill sets available within each board committee and the requirements for advancing the implementation of the Federation's new strategy are considered. These considerations enable the board committees to determine which members should rotate off and which should be nominated for a second and final term. Additionally, when the board committees face a challenge in making these recommendations, the Chair of the Board of Trustees is consulted. This paper highlights the background and the process followed by the committees for the members re-appointment before submission to the Board of Trustees for approval.

Action Required:

The Board of Trustees is requested **to approve** the following committee members for a second and final term of office that will end on 31st October 2026.

- 1. MC: Ann Hendrix-Jenkins; Jossy Delicia Dukere and Vinod Kapoor
- 2. RATC: Nynke Van Den Broek and Christopher Kamau
- 3. **C-SIP**: Tarah Demant; Petra Bayr and Amelia Zawangone.

Background

In accordance with the established terms of reference for board committees, member reappointments should follow a staggering process to maintain a balance between continuity and the introduction of fresh contributions to our governance system.

As part of this process, the Nominations and Governance Committee (NGC) conducts an annual performance review of all board committee members. The outcome of this performance review enables each board committee to determine the members who should rotate off after the first three years in office. If a board committee cannot determine the members that should rotate off (this may be due to change of committee chairs, or incomplete performance review, etc.) the Chair of the Board of Trustees is consulted to assist the newly appointed Chair to determine the members that shall rotate off. In the case of the C-SIP, the BoT Chair was consulted, since the performance review was not completed and the serving Chair had retired.

Expected action:

As a result of the above-described process, the existing members listed below of the Membership Committee (MC), the Resource Allocation Technical Committee (RATC) and the Strategy Investment and Policy Committee (C-SIP) are being put forward for the BoT approval for a second and final term of office:

Membership Committee

- 1. Ann Hendrix-Jenkins
- 2. Jossy Delicia Dukere
- 3. Vinod Kapoor

Resource Allocation Technical Committee

- 1. Nynke Van Den Broek
- 2. Christopher Kamau

Strategy Investment and Policy Committee

- 1. Tarah Demant
- 2. Petra Bayr
- 3. Amelia Zawangone

The profiles of these existing board committee members can be found at the following link: https://www.ippf.org/about-us#people-of-ippf